The Duomo of Orvieto
The construction of the cathedral was started in 1290 by
Pope Nicholas IV
to celebrate the miracle of Bolsena and to house the sacred linen of the
on which the blood dripped from the consecrated host.
The original building was attributed to
Arnolfo di Cambio
, but the typical fingerprint of the construction is due to
, who directed the work since 1310.
In particular, by Maitani is the design of the extraordinary facade, interpreted as a polychrome triptych rich of mosaics and sculptures.
The masters who succeeded in further work basically kept the original design line, but with additions and reinterpretations close to the taste of later ages.
Andrea di Cione
, known as
, is ascribed the magnificent rose window, of the half of '300, while the decorative elements that surround it, and in particular the twelve overhanging kiosks, are already inspired by the Renaissance.
The front was then completed in full '500, with the erection of three cusps, although the mosaics will be reworked up to '700.
The whole, while running over several centuries, however, maintains exemplary balance and harmony of lines, with a homogeneous stylistic evolution and a clarity of form and color that
make the church one of the most extraordinary gems of Gothic.
The interior of basilica with three naves, of which the central one is covered by wooden beams, is decorated with horizontal white and black bands of models linked to Siena.
Numerous are the works of art preserved from the Duomo, distributed mainly in the beautiful chapels.
In particular, an absolute masterpiece of medieval goldsmith is the
Reliquary of the Corporal
, tripartite as the facade of the church, which presents thirty-two refined scenes, of gold, silver and translucent enamel, narrating the stories of the
Passion of Christ
Famous, then, the decoration of
St. Brizio Chapel
, with frescoes by
, and especially by
, who represented the great scenes of